Green Eggs and Ham

I don’t know what book was my favorite as a child, if I did in fact have a favorite. But I know which is at the top of my list in retrospect: Green Eggs and Ham by Dr. Seuss. I remember our teacher read it to the entire class in kindergarten and sometime not long after that day we got to eat green eggs and ham for real. I can’t really explain how awesome I think that is and how much it seems to have stayed with me (strangely enough). It has though, maybe because it’s one of my earliest memories of something imaginary, in a children’s book, something nonsensical and unreal, being brought straight into reality.

I know, I know… a little bit of green dye isn’t all that impressive, but it was when I was that little because I didn’t know how it was done, I didn’t know why you’d want to, and I didn’t think it was possible or that it made any sense. It hadn’t occurred to me that green eggs and ham were or could be anything outside of a weird meal in a strange book. And looking back I see a few different things to take from that. One of the most important things being: just about anything you dream up can be made real.

“I have dreamed in my life, dreams that have stayed with me ever after, and changed my ideas; they have gone through and through me, like wine through water, and altered the color of my mind.”
~Emily Bronte

Leave a Reply

