Cristian Mihai’s Blog

I like this guys blog, therefore…

An excerpt from his “About” page: “Cristian Mihai (born 25 December 1990) grew up in Constanta, Romania. And he’s still growing up, or at least trying to. Sometimes he writes. Sometimes he gets lucky and writes something good.” I think this guy is an exceptional writer and, aside from his efforts to rally support for his magazine project (which is something I respect, just not something I’m personally interested in), I always look forward to reading something new from him. Here are a few highlights from his most recent posts…

On Letting Go – In this essay, he talks about letting go – of blog posts, stories, novels, and so on – as a part of surviving as a writer. In a nutshell, I think it could be summed up as the idea of letting it take on a life of its own and, once a piece of work has been worked on ‘enough’ and it’s been put out there for others to read and critique, tuning out negative, spiteful, or otherwise poor reviews. Haha, I’m sure I’m doing an injustice to the essence of what he conveyed here though, so you’d be better of just reading it yourself. With my own writings I tend to return to things eventually and often times rework them, but I suppose even that involves letting go. When I come back to something I wrote six months, a year, or two years ago it’s kind of like reading over a half-familiar writing that was written by someone else, someone with a less complete grasp of what was trying to be conveyed. And I help my ‘past self’ by taking ‘his’ work and revising, rearranging, and attempting to touch it up, refine it.

“The Process”Here he talks about his ‘process’; it is one that never involves planning, outlines, or anything else that over-complicates things. I personally liked it because of my usual tendencies toward that lack of proper technique, structure, and planning. I mean seriously… I’m supposed to be enjoying this. And making it into a tedious chore just sounds like a stupid idea to me. That’s not to say that it isn’t effective (or even enjoyable) to lay things out a little more deliberately or meticulously for some people, but I really prefer not to.

How Far Would You Go?This particular bit of writing, I absolutely adore. I can relate to the philosophy talked about here. The first line of that post: “My life’s philosophy is pretty simple: find something you want and do your best to get it. Find something you’re passionate about, and do over and over again until you die.” That is by far one of the most sensible ideas to live by that I’ve come across, and the way in which he communicated its important here is awesome.

Also probably worth mentioning is that Cristian’s got several books published (hard copies and e-book format) if I’m not mistaken, and while I have yet to buy these I have read a few of the shorter works he’s put out there for free. Based on that, and the tastes of what some of his books are about here and there in blog posts, I’d bet they’re probably worth reading.

…I think you should go read his blog, and maybe his books.

2 thoughts on “Cristian Mihai’s Blog

Leave a Reply

