Social Networking

Been having fun with other facets of the internet.

Got a facebook page and twitter account now. I could’ve done a page for each blog, but I figured what the hell, why not just make the page “mine”, title it with my pen name. That way it encompasses both blogs, plus whatever else I want to do with it; at the moment, it has kind of replaced my actual profile because I’ve been using it to share stuff from other pages, and linked to a few posts here.

Twitter:ย https://twitter.com/JackSutter
Facebook:ย https://www.facebook.com/LunaticJackSutter

I’ll probably upload a few pics there to, over time, but I doubt it’ll be any sort of focus for me.ย Seems for some people, the FB pages are all they’re doing (i.e. it’s used as a sort of blog, in and of itself). In my case though, it’s more about being a small extension of the two blogs I’ve got set up here on wordpress.

Anyways…

I’ll probably like using twitter… I’ve got a thing for quotes, so as far as that goes it’s actually a very nifty platform. But it’s the same with twitter as it is with the FB page, it’s not so much a thing in itself as an extension of whatever I’ve got going on right here, where you’re reading this post. All the same, feel free to follow me on twitter, or “like” the FB page ๐Ÿ™‚ .

Oh, and one other thing: I’ll probably be playing around with other themes a little bit here. I started out with a different one than this current theme (Manifest), and while I kind of like the clean, simple, minimalistic look of each (whatever I was using before, and this one), there are others I think I’d like to try out too.

The one downside of the themes I’ve used so far: they’re not designed to accommodate widgets (at least not to my satisfaction), so that’s something I’ll be looking for if I do decide to change to another one.

I’d apologize for the “social-networking-centric” nature of the post, because I think it’s kind of lazy, but a) I’m sick of second guessing myself here, b) I tend to agree with what Suzie said in one of her recent posts about apologizing for what you’ve got to say, and c) gotta (re)start somewhere.

Every time I write something out, it’s not good enough by the time I’m bored with it and I end up not posting anything, so I’m going to go back to the “fuck it” mentality for a while.ย It might not always make for the best quality… but I did say (to myself as much as to others) that the writing and blogging stuff was going to be a messy business.

8 thoughts on “Social Networking

    • No problem ๐Ÿ˜‰ , I’m glad to have stumbled onto it.

      On my philosophy: I try not to be to dismissive of intellect, conceptualization, or genuine efforts to “philosophize”, but at the end of the day… haha, well, I’d say practicality dictates a certain mentality and approach if I want to accomplish anything.

      I appreciate you taking the time to have read a bit about it here; good to know someone found value in it ๐Ÿ˜€ .

      Like

  1. Try the Suits Theme. It is simple and has some widget support.

    Social media is great, but it can get overwhelming. Keeping up with Twitter, FB, G+, Pinterest…gaaaaah, my eyes are already glazing over. If you haven’t already, check out Hootsuite. It’s a great place to manage most social media in one place…and it’s free!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Keeping writing, my friend.

    Like

    • Thanks for the recommendation ๐Ÿ™‚ . I’m kind of liking this new theme so far (Motif), but I’ll definitely check out the Suits theme, maybe compare and contrast between the two, and see which one seems to work best.

      Haven’t heard of Hootsuite before, but I’ll give that a look ๐Ÿ˜€ ; couldn’t agree more that they seem overwhleming at times (I’ve got a lot more going on with people through twitter than I’d counted on, so that’s been a nice surprise, but yeah, it’s more than I was expecting to have to grapple with haha).

      “Keeping writing, my friend.”

      Most definitely ๐Ÿ˜‰ .

      Like

  2. I like your theme, too. I like the themes that are simple, and easy to find stuff on. Suits theme is similar to this one, just a slight different layout. It’s the one I use on my page if you want to see the style.

    As for Hootsuite, if you want one place to keep up to speed on Facebook and Twitter, this one works like a charm. You can send messages to from Hootsuite to most of the social media outlets. So if you want to post a link to your blog post to Twitter/Facebook, you just enter the link once, include which social media you want to send it to, and then click send. You can also schedule posts in Hootsuite.

    Between that and Evernote, I finally feel like I can keep track of all things to do with blogging.

    Like

Leave a Reply

