Saying Nothing

There was a time when I dealt with a lack of inspiration by free writing. It didn’t matter what I was writing about, or how well, or anything… the idea was to just write.

Lately though, if I don’t feel compelled to, I just don’t bother. Why force it? See, I notice in a lot of my earlier writings that when I wrote without inspiration, to try to offer something worth reading, something insightful or clever, it felt contrived. Of course there’s a difference between that and free-writing, but sometimes I don’t even feel like doing that and you know what? It shows.

So when I’ve got nothing to say…

I either say nothing and don’t hide the fact that I’m doing it (e.g. this post), or I keep my mouth shut.
The latter seems more sensible, but saying ‘nothing’ wth a bunch of words can help sometimes too.
Acknowledge that you just can’t think of anything, and sometimes it opens the floodgates.

Funny how that works.

6 thoughts on “Saying Nothing

  1. I’ve written things that could have been turned into small novels based around the fact the at the time I had absolutely nothing to say – odd to say the least and often some of my funniest work. Inspiration brings out the literary side, just being me tends to have the affect of letting my inner snark off the leash.

    Like

    • Being “me” tends to range wildly from one side of the spectrum to the other (on just about any spectrum)… sometimes I get contemplative, or fixated, and sometimes I come off as cocky or pretentious, and other times insecurity bleeds through despite my best efforts. I think a lot of the time though, it’s hard to predict what I’m going to write, but that’s not something I mind to much.

      “One must still have chaos in oneself to be able to give birth to a dancing star.”
      ~Friedrich Nietzsche

      🙂

      Like

      • Well sadly it seems I don’t have that many dimensions to my writing. What I write about changes on a daily basis but how I write falls into three categories, academic paper, professional reporting or me having a chat with inner snark and sarcasm on the loose.

        I do like what I’ve read of you work and I’m looking forward to reading more.

        Like

  2. I like that freewriting really started off as a form of surrealist art that got absorbed into Freud’s development of psycho-analysis. These days it’s been co-opted into just another throwaway writing textbook technique for brainstorming… but truly if you lose yourself into a freewriting trance you can truly create something unique and that’s more of what we need in the word, not formulas for ‘how to succeed’ but pure creative expression! So don’t stop yourself from freewriting, even if you’ve got nothing to say, because even the worst nonsensical freewriting is something, and it’s real!

    Like

Leave a Reply

