Forged or Revealed?

When it comes to fiction, I haven’t been into writing for very long. I’ve written out my thoughts, feelings, and aspirations for years in an effort to be more self aware, but not without being part of a certain movement or philosophy. Not without that introspective intent. I’m going to omit the name of it, but my point is that before I was part of something else. Now there’s only Jack. Only me.

A slightly off-kilter human being.

And, of course, there are my fictional writings, all of them short and none of them amounting to much in terms of quantity. Maybe not in quality either, but aside from realistically assessing my work as a ‘newbie’ I’m not going to put myself down or look down my nose at my own work. Especially not when it’s the source of what I’ve got on my mind right now, which comes down to a question:

Do we really decide who we are?

The more I write the more I wonder about that.

6 thoughts on “Forged or Revealed?

    • 🙂 It’s a hard question for me, mainly because it’s such a stark contrast with the idea of creating oneself… but I can’t help but wonder lately if you can even do that. Sometimes it seems that all I can do is reveal myself. It’s still kind of a strange notion to me.

      Like

  1. Ask yourself the questions on the page. Think of it as wearing a fiction suit so no one connects the uncomfortable truths that might come up. You get some detachment and youre producing work that’s an honest reflection of yourself.

    Like

    • That’s a lot like how I’ve looked at it. Aside form the question itself, which I said in another comment is kind of a hard one for me to grapple with, exploring how it feels to be okay as the man behind the curtain (like the wizard of Oz), as someone that’s maybe less than (or at least different from, without any need for explanation) what I might appear to be based on my words. I’m liking it so far, to be honest. That license to disassociate, to seperate myself, seems to have its value, for sure.

      It’s interesting comparing and contrasting that with what I (more or less) go for here too though. In fiction, I’m not important. The story is, the character(s) is, and I don’t really enter into it. Ideally anyways.

      Here, I’m pretty much all there is. Of course even with that I have free reign on distancing myself, being a spectator and writing out commentary on things as someone apart from them… if and when I want to. I actually prefer that because, well, I get that people can relate to you personally when you talk about yourself, but to me there’s a difference between being self centered (which I am, invariably) and being self absorbed (which I am from time to time, caught up in my own mind, or my own doubts, or what have you).

      Like

Leave a Reply

