Giving Visual Art a Fair Shake

That bit about visual artists having it easy? Just fyi, I didn’t exactly mean it.

I mean… okay, maybe I kind of meant it, but can you blame me? I like artwork I can see, but I don’t even have a faint hope of creating it. Not in the way I would want to. And I don’t have the passion (or sufficient talent to sustain the existing passion) to go through all the footwork of learning and honing my skills in that medium. So who knows… maybe that colors my judgement a bit. Maybe I’m a little bitter that some of you fuckers can paint to your imaginations content while I am left to toil away with words, concepts, stories… intangibles.

If you want to see your work spring to life as a painter all you’ve got to do is buy a canvas and cover it with color. Me? I have the internet, I have the dilema of creating a puzzle before I can put it together, putting it together as I go or before sharing… and if or when I get that far with any of the stories or characters, then I have a longshot of getting published by a big enough brand name to make some money. Or, I can lose money and pay out the ass to self-publish. That’s a long way to go before holding something solid in my hand though. So…

I don’t know if you’ve got it “easy” as a visual artist. I do know this much though: you’re lucky bastards to be able to conjure up your creations in such a real, immediate way. There are a lot of things I don’t envy of that particular artform, a lot of things I probably don’t take into account out of ignorance, inexperience. But the way you can see what you’re creating, the way it blossoms before your eyes over the hours, days, weeks… I imagine there’s a certain satisfaction there. One that is nowhere to be found in a lot of the process of creating something with words.

At first glance anyways. Of course I say that knowing there’s probably a similar process with visuals. I just don’t have to worry acknowledge it through my own firsthand experience because I’m no good with that art form. I don’t have to go through it visually. And, when you get right down to it, I can poke fun at it all I want. The division between words and images might be arbitrary in artwork, at least when it comes to what I was talking about, but that doesn’t mean I have to act like it. Treating illusions like they’re real is part of what makes magic fun, after all. Haha in other words…

Giving it a Fair Shake – The Shortened Version

Don’t take my condescending tact to seriously when I say they have it easy.

There’s a perfectly fair chance I’m full of shit on that one. I just don’t care enough not to say it, because on some level the grass occasionally seems greener on the other side. Even if I know it’s probably not, I’m not about to keep myself from entertaining the fantasy for a moment.

The fair shake after that moment has passed though: they’ve probably got it just as easy as any other artist. Which is to say… it’s probably not as easy as it looks. That should probably be said now that I’ve said my bit on the painstakingly puzzle-like nature of constructing a story from nothing.

6 thoughts on “Giving Visual Art a Fair Shake

  1. : ) I think you’re discounting what you create with words. You do layer “colors” and you do add dimension. You must choose the perspective you see in your mind’s eye and convey that to “paper”. You just do it with words. You may not scrabble with glazes, depth, texture and images for the eyes but writing IS doing similar things for the mind’s eye. imo Loved your take and just as I see things people do that I do not know about, I have a greater appreciation NOT knowing the details it takes in creating “it” myself. At the same time, IF I do know how something is created, I personally lose a great deal of naked appreciation because I know too many details. It’s like knowing how a magic trick is done. Innocence is lost I guess. Great subject. I like how you think.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well, I figured I talked up the word side of the fence in my last post lol, but I love the way you’re comparing them. “The mind’s eye”… that’s one term that, for some reason, just didn’t spring to mind when I was writing this.

      “I have a greater appreciation NOT knowing the details it takes in creating “it” myself. At the same time, IF I do know how something is created, I personally lose a great deal of naked appreciation because I know too many details. It’s like knowing how a magic trick is done. Innocence is lost I guess.”

      Oh I *totally* get what you mean. Last time I tried explaining that to someone they basically mistook it as a pro “ignorance is bliss argument”, but magic tricks are a perfect example. Nobody goes to a magicians show because they know how it’s done. They go because they expect to be wowed, or because they’re learning the craft themselves, and both almost always have an appreciation for the mystery, the not knowing exactly how it’s done.

      “Great subject. I like how you think.”

      Thank You 😀 .

      Liked by 1 person

      • I discovered my own thought process on losing my own appreciation of the aesthetics almost every single time in creating a visual and when dealing with other visual artists. One can get too involved in the details. Sometimes it is better to not ask questions and just “see”. I always think of a bunch of important philosophers talking about life in the greatest detail. They sit in some place and create words with more words poured on top of and mixed with other crucial words of potentially critically important morals, law, ideals and archetypes until every theory and example fills their minds and I wish to hear it all but honestly, I think that living – actual living is better than philosophizing or listening. See – too many words made me forget my point! Oh yes, just see or be or do. Mind you, I have a hard time following that if I think too much

        Liked by 1 person

  2. “If you want to see your work spring to life as a painter all you’ve got to do is buy a canvas and cover it with color. Me? I have the internet…” sorry but this part keeps cracking me up. I seriously have to thank you for the laughs. I admit that I had to quickly read what you said to get your purpose and not attempt to debate. This line diffused any argument and made it fun. : )

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sorry I took so long to reply, your comment somehow ended up in the spam folder. Thank you for the nomination 😀 . I’m not sure if I’ll do the award post though haha, at least maybe not all that soon. I had a bunch a while back that I said I was going to accept and, well, I just sucked at actually doing it, so I don’t want to make a promise I’m not going to keep. But I appreciate that you thought of me 🙂 . I think, if I decide to do it, I’ll probably mutilate the rules for my own convenience a little bit, maybe disregard the rule of 10-15 blogger nominations and just vote for three of four. That’s mostly what tripped me up last time.

      Like

Leave a Reply

