Motivational Speakers

Motivational speakers are such fucking con artists. I don’t say that in a bad way either. There’s a reason ‘artist’ is part of that term. It always amazes me the kind of things people will buy into and, with a few possible (and extreme) exceptions, I don’t feel bad for them at all. I don’t consider it stealing when someone gives away their money out of stupidity. I don’t blame the con man.

Barring the real slick bastards out there, I generally think the blame rests on the so-called ‘victims’ for being so goddamned stupid. Holding a gun to someone’s face and letting them believe you’ll pull the trigger if they don’t give you their cash? That is stealing. Sending an e-mail to a bunch of people saying “you’ve just won a million dollars for a survey you never took but you’ve gotta pay some money up front to get it”? Well, that’s just fishing for idiots. If you’ve ever been hooked then I’m sorry but idiot or not, you did a very stupid thing 😛 .

The guys that get up and professionally pep talk you aren’t any better. Listening to their set of party lines isn’t going to get you any farther along in your goals and half the shit a lot of them say isn’t even that important. I remember this time in high school in an introductory psychology class, the teacher had a friend come in and speak to us. He was a motivational speaker, he had a story, he had a few rules of thumb to share, and put them to use with us. Let me tell you… his story of patching together old clothes when he was a kid didn’t impact me much. Neither did his professed value of presenting yourself well with nice clothes.

Even if I get rich I’ll probably still buy cheap stuff, mostly, and the only exception I can see is maybe having my otherwise normal clothing custom fit. So it looks just the way I want it to, and so it fits the way I want. Success to me doesn’t in any way mean getting to a point where I dress the way people think succesful people dress. Success, to me, would be more along the lines of being so good or accomplished at what I do that I can wear whatever the fuck I want and still be respected for doing what I do. You know another tip he gave the class?

When someone asks how you’re doing don’t just say “fine” or “good”. Don’t go with the common response, say you’re “wonderful” or “great”. That you’re “excellent”. He made a point of doing that beforehand too so he’d have an example to point out when he gave his tip. But… do you know how that shit seems to other people? To me it comes off like a front, like it’s fake, a slick, slimy fucking veneer. My guard automatically goes up around people like that, makes me want to watch them, size them up, see what kind of shit they’re going to try to pull with me.

The only thing I’ll grant is that some motivational speakers offer mostly (or entirely) practical advice. Some of them are completely sincere in what they say, how they say it, and what they’ve done to be able to spend their time talking at people about how to be successful. That shows, and they’re more along the lines of honest businessmen, paid to give sound effective pointers and tools to apply (to any situation or ambition) and perfectly able to deliver that. Still…

Best case scenario you get a nicely packaged, systemized dose of common sense and… passion over-rides all the rules in every playbook. If you’ve got the passion for something, you’ve got what you need to fuel you as you search and burn for a way to realize your ambitions. My advice? (And yes, oh yes, I see the irony, but…) Do yourself a favor and figure out what you want. Then grab for it. If you miss then grab again, look for another angle, another way. If you want something bad enough there’s always a way, and you don’t need anyone to tell you how to get it.

That’s just… a good way make it acceptable to yourself that your killing time not doing something to get what you want. Because it’s just close enough to doing something that you can pretend it’s actually a benefit to you in the long run. That somehow that advice is just going to apply itself because your listening to it, taking it in, lol… “learning”. I’ll tell you what learning is: figure out what you want. Then go out and do something. See if it works. If it doesn’t then do something else to get what you want. Trial and error ladies and gents. That’s the only real learning there is.

Find what sets your soul on fire and you’ll be happy to burn.

3 thoughts on “Motivational Speakers

  1. Not sure if they’re in a different category, but I feel this way about “life coaches”. But hey, if someone is willing to pay for this kind of advice, I guess that’s their business.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think it depends a lot on the individual (some people seem perfecty willing to pay for fluffy, feel-good platitudes and silly advice and plenty are willing too give it as long as they’re paid) but in general I tend to see life coaches in the same light. I’ve seen some pretty amazing transformations in people that’ve worked with a guy I know, he does that sort of work guiding people sometimes, but he’s kind of an exception to the rule. He doesn’t do it all the time but he’s good at helping people figure themselves out, nudging them to get themselves where they want to be, and the people I’ve seen him work with never had to pay a dime. Even in rare cases like that though… I feel a little like I shouldn’t need that kind of help. That finding my way is my own business.

      Haha, not that I meant to get all reminiscent about it, but yeah. I’d say imo that by and large life coaches defnitely fall into that category 🙂 .

      Like

Leave a Reply

