Failing is Easy

There’s something Charlie Sheen said, or wrote, on success and failure; I posted it here a while back but I think it deserves a bit of revisiting. See, relatively speaking I’ve been pretty damn successful at this so far. Compared to what I dream up in my mad little mind of course, I’ve accomplished next to nothing, but… over 3,000 followers isn’t nothing. The respect and compliments I’ve been given by people like Jason Cushman (Harsh Reality) and Liis (Brain-Babies) aren’t nothing. In spite of any feelings I might have to the contrary from time to time, I’ve had success already that I can’t just ignore.

Sheen had said we’re taught how to deal with failure when we’re kids. It’s easy because when you fail, generally people tell you from early on to try again. But what if you succeed? Then what?  We’re taught to deal with failure. Success? Not so much. The solution to that puzzle that I came to, that I was actually surprised by when it came, was that you deal with it just the same. It can be as jarring, as disorienting, with all the power (or more) to derail you from the course you were on. So the answer to “what next?” is simple. Do it again. Try something else. If failure is habitual for life-long losers…

Success is pretty much the same for winners.

For people who imagine and dream and want, and make those desires and fantasies into reality. Failure seems easier because when it happens we have an idea of what to do. The thing of it is though, success can be just as easy if you don’t stop to think to much about it. Get past the uncertainty and treat it a bit more like failure, something you pick yourself up from, move on from, and it becomes as easy. Fixating on it will do the same thing as fixating on failure, so take it in stride and enjoy it… then move on. Don’t just helplessly ask”what’s next?”. Come up with an answer.

Success is no more a reason to stop than failure is.

2 thoughts on “Failing is Easy

  1. Don’t get what you want, but want what you get. To some, like me, success is just an idea and does not exist in the absolute world, just in relativity. Here’s a nice book you could read: Unworldly Wise. In any case, keep on blogging in a free world, I’ll be reading you – The False Prophet

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m with you on success being subjective but I kind of take that idea (“don’t get what you want, but want what you get) and flip it on its head. I believe desire is the only thing that gives life any meaning and trying to make myself content with things I get… seems like a step backwards. My feelings on that are a little ambivalent because I get the idea of gratitude and not being blind to what you have, but I think people take that to far a lot of the time and it just comes back to… I don’t want to ignore, suppress, or sidestep my dissatisfaction when that’s what I feel. Not sure if any of that applies to you but that’s my take on it 🙂 .

      Anyhow, thank you for commenting 😀 .

      Like

Leave a Reply

