Seriousness is a Sickness

Taking things to seriously is like an affliction. A big part of my problem (just in general) is that I do exactly that, and I tend to dwell on “heavy” issues. Morality, economics, the harshness of reality, what the point of all this might be, shit like that. Sometimes I completely lose my cocky, well adjusted attitude to what I can only call a sort of emptiness. It’s why I was kind of hesitant to post on older essay a while back (Pseudo Morality).

I mean sure, I still believe what I wrote, but the gravity of what I’m talking about in it and the way I felt about it at the time, like it was so important, just doesn’t sit well with me anymore. I don’t really care if people want to wear good guy badges. It’s enough to know how fake they are; they’re not going to go anywhere though, and not everyone is going to want to lay theirs aside. That used to piss me off but nowadays… I just don’t take it as seriously.

You can’t fix stupid, and I don’t see the point of trying anymore. I’d rather just brag about my own insight than rail on the lack of it in others.

6 thoughts on “Seriousness is a Sickness

    • Probably has something to do with my wanting or expecting to be taken seriously when I was a kid. I can’t say for sure where it came from though, just a became a habit. I decided I was tired of it a while ago. Like my smarts, it’s never really gotten me anywhere, so I figure… who needs it? Not me.

      Not all the time anyways.

      Like

  1. I’ve also learned to get rid of some of my righteous indignation about the things that people do. I just got tired of caring, especially when I knew it wouldn’t do any good.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

