Claims of Love

There are people out there who have the horrible tendency to question anyone who claims to love them. I’m not exactly the kind of person you’d want to take advice from on anything, but I’ve got some on this: don’t fucking do that. If someone loves you and you’re always doubting that, they’re going to torture themselves trying (and failing) to prove it to you. For no good reason. You don’t have to reciprocate it, you don’t even have to believe it. You also don’t have to be an asshole about it though.

Especially if it’s the truth.

Understand, this is coming from someone who generally assumes people care less about me than they let on. I know myself, my general disinterest in others unless something about them captures my attention, stands out and appeals to me. Coming from that perspective I don’t expect much out of the people and I don’t like them expecting much from me. But I’m also not going to give someone shit or question them on those occasions where they express affection.

It’s a waste of my energy, and when it comes to being on the receiving end of it… it’s just not cool. Just because your insecure about yourself doesn’t mean you should dump those insecurities on someone like that. Especially if they’re sincere because chances are they won’t call you on your bullshit. (I hope) I would because (I like to think) I learn from my mistakes. Not everyone will. Not everyone knows how to express that kind of frustration.

Some people don’t even think it’s possible to do so constructively. You’d be surprised at how easy straight forward communication is if you just open your mouth and speak your mind though, and you might be amazed at how simplified life can be if you just treat things at face value. Someone says they love you? Assume it’s true, go from there. Either you feel it too or you don’t. Either they’re lying or they’re not. Time will tell. In the meantime, while you’re waiting to find out, show a little tact.

It’s not even about compassion, it’s about whether or not you have any fucking manners. It’s about whether you have any pride or confidence in yourself. ‘Cause believe me, however you feel about another person, it gives a lot of insight into how you feel about yourself if you have such a hard time buying that someone can care about you. Self respect ladies and gentleman… just a little.

It would, at the very least, make my Facebook newsfeed a more enjoyable stream of information.


(Originally posted on January 8th, 2015)

2 thoughts on “Claims of Love

Leave a Reply

