Friedman on Greed

I just wrote out a few thoughts on capitalism, but I thought I’d share a relevant clip here first.

It hits on a few points I ignored, comes at it from a different angle, but I’m a capitlist through and through; while I haven’t bothered to learn much about Friedman beyond a piece of an interview, I liked this video. It relates pretty well to my economic outlook.

Even if I go through my entire life being dirt poor, I wouldn’t dare blame that on the economic system. A mismanaged government might contribute to making things harder for people, myself included, but even so… if I die on the bottom of the heap, that’s ultimately going to be on me.

If you that’s where you end up when all is said and done, take a guess at who you can blame.

Here’s a hint for you…

Hand-Pointing

Subtle enough?


(Originally posted on May 20th, 2014)

4 thoughts on “Friedman on Greed

  1. You write: “Even if I go through my entire life being dirt poor, I wouldn’t dare blame that on the economic system.”

    Interesting. So if you lived in North Korea I wonder if that sentiment would hold…

    Liked by 1 person

    • No, I don’t think it necessarily would hold. I think it does for me though because I *don’t* live in North Korea, I live in America where capitalism is the ideal we aspire to – or at least it was, historically. Under a system where capitalism is still the ideal – even if we operate more under a system that’s arguably more corporatism than capitalism these days – there’s no excuse for me to still be dirt poor by the time I’m on my death bed.

      Like

Leave a Reply

