First Thing’s First

There are truths all around us in this world, and people like to pretend they’re hard to come by or they’re hard to grasp. They’re not. What’s hard is the thing they, we, seem to like doing most with them. Obscuring them, burying them, denying them. Like the truth that anything you want is within your reach, if only you bother to reach for it. Anything. Writing? Go fucking write something.

Anything.

There are so many different forms and styles, it doesn’t matter what you write. If you go and do it, you’ll have material to work with. You’ll have mortar and brick to build with. You’ll have something to play with and present to the world. You don’t waste your time worrying about that shit until you’ve got something to work with though. Thinking about all of that is just a distraction from actually doing the things you dream of. That’s all it is, a distraction and a waste of time.

That you need only do the things you dream up in your mind is a truth people shirk.

I don’t know why. I do it and I don’t have a solid answer.

Everyone does it to one degree or another. The difference I guess is that some people do it a lot more than others and never really do anything with their lives. I’m not even a big exception to that yet. But I can tell you this much. I want to write, I want recognition for it, I want to have done it. So I do it, sometimes not as much as I think I probably should, but at least I’ve got something.

Something to show to the world. Pieces, however fragmentary and disjointed they’ve been so far, of my dreams. Of what I want. Of what I could (and might still) end up becoming.

The Essence of What I’m Saying…

…is the same goddamned thing Walt Disney and so many other brilliant bastards have said.

If you can dream it you can do it, so fucking do it.

It’s so simple, but so rarely embraced by the average man or woman. That’s the nature of most truths; they’re right there in front of us and we can live them and know them, but only if we do them. Get what I’m saying? Worry about dolling it up after, not before you have something.

And then move on to the next thing. Fixating on a little bit of finished content is just as bad as not starting. Sometimes… sometimes it’s even worse. Do it, then do some more.

Leave a Reply

