American Politics

I think I’m going to go ahead and make a new category for American Politics because, the presidential race aside, there are a lot of times when I’ve got plenty of things on my mind in that vein. I doubt it’s going to be a major part of what I talk about, but it pops up often enough – and is usually political enough in nature – to designate as a political post. One thing people should remember about me if they read my political opinions: they are opinions. I’m not a journalist.

The appropriate term for what I do, even beyond politics, is probably something along the lines of “commentator”. I observe, I experience, I talk about it. The funniest part is I bet I take accuracy and an unbiased understanding of a situation or issue a lot more seriously than most so-called journalists. That tends to work in my favor. It’s a shame too though because…

I’m essentially peddling my opinions here and if I had a television show like O’Reilly or someone else of the like, there’s a good chance I’d be more reliable (in terms of facts and accurate information) than most news media. I make a point of being opinionated, but I also make a point of having informed opinions to the best of my ability.

That doesn’t get rid of the inevitability of being mistaken or misinformed from time to time, but I imagine it would make for some pretty compelling opinions because my track record for accuracy is arguably already world’s beyond the average FOX or CNN anchor, reporter, or pundit. The more of a track record for that I have, the more compelling my outlook is probably going to be. Lack of credibility can be worked around but, it’s a lot easier on everyone involved just to be credible.

Which leads me to why I’m writing this post. I bought Donald Trump’s new book the day it was released and picked it up from the store yesterday. I haven’t read much of it yet but…

So far it seems to be both simple in its approach, and built on facts. The chapter I just finished reaches all the way back to the beginning of his campaign and can best be described as a way of systematically and succinctly setting the record straight on any misconceptions or misunderstandings a person might have about him. Especially the kind that might have been generated by inaccurate, dishonest, or misleading journalism. And the thing of it is, he’s not lying.

You can actually go back, research it for yourself, and see that he’s not lying. And that if someone gave you a different impression of his speeches, his campaigns, or his career, they were lying to you. Maybe intentionally, maybe not, but it’s still bullshit all the same.

That’s a big part of why I’m going to be voting for him.

He doesn’t have to make himself seem credible, he doesn’t have to work around a track record of being disingenuous, because what he says is credible. What he does only adds to that.

When his statements, positions, and voiced intentions aren’t a matter of simple fact, they’re solid conclusions and desired approaches based on facts. Agree with his opinions or not, he forms them based on reality. His biggest obstacles are probably the alleged racism, sexism…

And, perhaps, the very real grandiosity about him. Two of those obstacles are bullshit and anyone who cares to know can find that out for themselves – buy a few of his books, watch some footage of what he’s actually said, in context. Read through three or four news articles about an issue or criticism instead of just one biased report. In the end he always seems to come out looking like a million bucks, because he’s not lying, he’s not misleading, and he’s not being disingenuous.

He’s being authentic, and most of the time he’s right.

Look into it. The facts back him up.

Leave a Reply

