The Trade Off

It’s funny how much your “likes” or followers can fluctuate on social media, especially if you say things some people disagree with. If you have a different opinion, all the sudden you’re not worth following. That’s fine too, I just can’t help but smile when the number of Facebook likes dips below 350 because I support Trump, or because I have a problem with illegal immigration, or because I believe in the value and importance of 2nd Amendment rights. It kind of goes to the point I was making in the posts I wrote here about making yourself known (1 & 2).

There’s a cost for showing where you stand.

The irony, especially in this case, is that my overall reach is off the charts right now. As I write this post, my “post reach” stats are at 5,410, an all time high for me. And yet I’ve lost a few fans.
So you see, there’s a trade off. And in my opinion it’s well worth it, because the net effect is growth, an expanded reach, and more meaningful engagement with people.

It works the exact same way in the less measurable but much more important context of life offline. You can hide what you believe so you don’t offend people, or worse, you can pretend to share someone else’s views even though you disagree, but then the connections you have with people are going to be fake. Untrue. Above all, they’re going to be unsatisfying, and they’re going to work at cross purposes to whatever dreams, goals, or ambitions you might have.

The hard part I guess is in coming to terms with the reality that you’re going to offend someone, sooner or later. If you’re not a narrow-minded bigot or anything though, I say fuck ’em.

If you have a reason for your outlook, if you know what you’re talking about, and they’re just mad because you don’t agree then they can take their opposing views elsewhere. You’d be surprised at how many people you don’t need to get by, let alone succeed in life. You have to learn to be okay with that though. If you let it bother you, you’re going to run into problems. It’s going to undermine the things in your life that actually matter, and frankly, non-fans aren’t worth that.

Better to be rid of them.


(Update… As of right now, right before publishing this post… I’m down to 348 on my Facebook page, and yet the reach has climbed to 7,024. And it’s probably going to keep climbing. Interesting, isn’t it?)

10 thoughts on “The Trade Off

  1. “There’s a cost for showing where you stand.” This is very true. I try not to be too political on FB because most of my friends/family get annoyed by it. I finally got comfortable with the fact that political things and world events were just as important to me as someone posting pics of their kids or the 10,000th vacation they’ve taken this year and that I had just as much a “right” to post about these things as they did. I really do try and be respectful and add value to controversial issues, but some, many, just can’t handle it. Oh well, sad for them but for the country too as we all really need to be openly debating a lot of things these days.

    Liked by 2 people

    • I still get annoyed with myself for having so much to say about it (and more is coming, probably), but Trump generates so much ground for me to cover (if I want to) that it’s really, honestly, hard to even keep up with. This latest thing is just… I mean, you’ve got professional reporters and journalists claim he wants to ban all travel for Muslims, including Muslim Americans. That’s factually not true. It’s a lie. New York Magazine didn’t even try to give themselves an out if you call them on it, they just flat out reported, point blank, that it applies to everyone of that faith. It doesn’t. It applies solely to foreigners, whether they’re wanting to vacation here, or get visas, or whatever else, the (temporary) moratorium he proposed only applies to them. Not to Americans, not even the ones currently in other countries, overseas, etc.

      lol sorry for going on a little tangent. The news reports I’ve been watching/reading through today have just, well, really irritated me. Deliberate inaccuracies should get a reporter fired imo.

      “I finally got comfortable with the fact that political things and world events were just as important to me as someone posting pics of their kids or the 10,000th vacation they’ve taken this year and that I had just as much a “right” to post about these things as they did.”

      For what it’s worth, I’d rather read about your stuff over the trivial stuff any day 😉 . What people classify as important is kind of funny sometimes… like my neighbors clumsy kid tipping over himself while playing in the backyard. I could do without that, especially by the 100th time it’s happened (and been posted about).

      “I really do try and be respectful and add value to controversial issues, but some, many, just can’t handle it. Oh well, sad for them but for the country too as we all really need to be openly debating a lot of things these days.”

      All the more reason to go ahead and speak our minds in the most meaningful, reasonable way we know how 😀 . I don’t always quite manage that, but it doesn’t hurt to try for it 🙂 .

      Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t mind them being judgmental so much as I mind them not thinking out their own opinions. It only bothers me when the judgement is blind and, well, lacking in any basis in reality. It’s amazed me especially over the last few days the number of people who have opinions, but can’t seem to even begin to explain *why* they have those opinions.

      It’s not their disagreement I mind, it’s the close-mindedness and the willful ignorance (on both sides of any issue, but given the amount of controversy Trump generates, I’ve been exposed to a lot when it comes to him). I don’t care for people blindly supporting him either. In any case…

      I appreciate you commenting 😀 .

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

