Trump’s Healthcare Plans

Rubio went after Trump on his plans for healthcare in the 10th GOP debate, and the way I see it, his attacks were completely ineffective. The main criticism he tried (and failed) to level is that Trump’s plan lacks substance. Unleashing the benefits of a free market on a coddled, largely protected industry (the health insurance companies) is not short on substance. Not at all.

What you saw if you watched that debate was a difference of opinion on what “substance” means. The two candidates are on opposite ends of the spectrum.

Marco Rubio: the younger of the two, the bought and paid for professional politician, defines it as lots of words, as smart sounding (but meaningless) details. That’s Marco’s definition. Make it convoluted, harder to grasp, so that you’ll be able to say you’ve got “substance”, and never mind that doing so will make any of those plans impossible to implement.

Donald Trump: in contrast, the more successful and competent of the two clearly seems to define it as something that will have a meaningful (i.e. substantial) positive impact. Something that is simple, direct, realistic, and effective. Something that cuts through all the bullshit political jargon & that details can be built around.

Rubio apparently doesn’t understand the old acronym “K.I.S.S.”: keep it simple stupid. And for anyone who wants to act like Trump hasn’t put anything solid out regarding healthcare, he recently brought all of his position statements and policy ideas into focus, with room to add and revise as needed moving forward, in his recently published position on Healthcare Reform.

The funniest part? Rubio accused Trump of not having any actual plans for it. You go to Trump’s site though, and you can read through overviews of his positions and policy ideas, which now includes a healthcare reform plan based on the idea of competition in a free market, on capitalism – not corporatism or crony capitalism, but true capitalism. If you go to Rubio’s site…

Well, you get a few bullet points, a good chunk of which are just talking points designed to convince the reader that his ideas (slightly better expressed in the next few bullet points) are credible and that he can be trusted to implement them. Neither of which are notions he is ever going to sell me on. After all, this is the guy who ran for a Senate seat promising to stop illegal immigration, and then went on to help author a bill for amnesty with the “gang of eight”.

So Trump’s plan has substance, and is based on uniquely American ideals of capitalism, on the existence of a free market that ultimately benefits consumers and forced insurance companies to compete as they should in a capitalist economic environment, ideas that tie into and dovetail with each and every other policy idea and position he has, and how he wants to achieve certain results is pretty clearly explained. Marco’s plan… has tax credits, and lip service to a few notions.

That’s about it.

Sure, Marco gives lip service to a few vague ideas (reducing costs, promoting innovation), but apparently doesn’t know how to enact any of it, unless he plans on copying Trump’s proposed approach to the healthcare industry. Because Trump’s would actually do most (or all) of that.


(alt. title: Simplicity & the Free Market in Healthcare Reforms)

9 thoughts on “Trump’s Healthcare Plans

  1. Well, as you know I quite disagree with you on Trump, my concerns about what he would actually do with healthcare are probably the least of things. He’s said so many things and then taken them back that it’s really hard to pinpoint where the man stands on this issue.

    He was was once for universal coverage and praises single payer in Canada but says he wants a free market system here. Ok, but then he says he is for “universal coverage and the government is gonna pay for it” but denies every saying it. He claims to want to repeal all of Obamacare, then he says “except for that pre existing condition stuff” and when it’s pointed out to him how central a part that feature is he is again for repealing the whole thing. Except of course for the individual mandate which he was for until again someone told him how very unconservative this was and he backed off. He also talks about health savings accounts like they are something new. They are a great feature and enhancing them is part of everyone’s plan but they have been with us for years now.

    I dunno JS, you have a lot of smart and interesting things to say but I’m just not with ya on Trump. Should be interesting these next few primaries.

    Liked by 1 person

    • He doesn’t deny the government is going to pay to make healthcare *accessible* to everyone, but as far as I know, he figures that anyone not in or able to participate in it from the free market angle (the extremely poor, the elderly) are already taken care of by existing programs that have been robbed and defrauded left and right for years: Medicare and Medicaid. He wants to keep those intact, eliminate bad management, eliminate wasteful spending, and that’s really all he needs to do to have “universal coverage” paid for by the government. No keeping of Obamacare, and no additional gov. spending to achieve it. I get the skepticism, but if you look at what he’s actually said since he announced he was running, to give a timeframe to measure consistency, (as opposed what he said five, ten, fifteen, or twenty years ago, or what others have elected to interpret from what he’s said), it’s pretty consistent overall. — Haven’t watched the vid yet, and heading out, so I’ll watch it when I get back home 😉 .

      Liked by 1 person

      • Stated by who though, and in what context, beyond the vid you posted? Like I said, the universal healthcare (i.e. universally *accessible*) is, in his eyes, mostly explained by protecting and cleaning up existing programs, and cutting back on their wasteful spending to boot. More efficiency, no expansion, and a free market for everyone else, for the people who were forced into increasingly bad plans of Obamacare. He just hasn’t been as inconsistent as people have tried to make him out to be, so that’s (to my way of thinking anyways) just not a valid argument against him. (Edit: he also hasn’t denied saying what he said in the interview you posted a clip of, that I’m aware of; he *has* denied Cruz’s claims that he (Trump) wants socialized medicine on par with what Bernie Sanders wants, which is only one of many fairly dishonest things Cruz has been claiming). // I had a good night 😉 , have a good morning haha.

        Like

    • I’ve seen this video and I watched the interview it came from in its entirety along with a bunch of other ones. I think beyond what I already hit on, if there are other angles he wants to try exploring I don’t mind giving him a bit of leeway in figuring out additional details, if he wants to do more, in part because I have a hard time believing that what he comes up with won’t bleed the federal government dry or force people to buy anything.

      In any case though, I have to ask… who’s the better alternative?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Well for me it would be Cruz or Rubio or possibly Kasich. Right now I’m struggling with what I would do if Trump wins the nomination. I’ll still vote down ticket but may for the first time in my voting life abstain from selecting a president. Not that it matters much here in bluer than blue California but symbolically it means a lot to me.

        Hillary would be a continuation of Obama’s failures and cement a disastrous path towards European like social democracy. Identity and gender politics and the demonization of fellow citizens for their political views would get immensely worse too and the country will suffer greatly.

        With Trump (again in my opinion) the country could very well suffer more, especially if he ignites a trade war and the economy collapses. Republicans of course would get blamed, even though Trump is more left then right and we would not see another R in office for decades.

        There is a very good chance too that not many of his policies would come to fruition as he will quickly learn that telling Congress what to do doesn’t work the same way as telling one of his business subordinates. Still, the nastiness, divisiveness and drama would get worse under him too. I’m not sure the country can survive much more of this.

        I know we both love our country and care greatly who becomes president. Nice to see some fair contemplation about it though, even if we disagree on who that person is.

        There is a lot more I could write on my feelings about Trump. I’ll try and get a blog post out about it soon where of course I would love your thoughts on.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Fair points, for sure. Hopefully you don’t mind if I continue the back and forth a bit more but I kind of can’t help the thoughts bubbling up…

        Kasich isn’t that bad, but he’s not a polarizing or galvanizing figure, and to me, Trump outshines him massively in having an edge, in shaking things up for the general election, in obtaining cross over votes that even Kasich couldn’t match (and personally, I think he would be the next best when it comes to cross over votes from Independents and Democrats, maybe even minorities to an extent, but again,, Trump has him beat hands down in the numbers he’s pulling from those segments of the population, and all in spite of opponents and critics trying repeatedly to paint him as a racist).

        Rubio and Cruz are, to me, not much better than Clinton, and I don’t say that lightly. Rubio ran on the exact opposite of what he did with his “gang of eight” amnesty bill, and even that can’t be listed as an accomplishment (almost nothing he’s been involved with can) because he couldn’t make anything actually *happen*. That, plus his lack of attendance, and the way he just threw himself into the outright lies and the childish mockery just astonished me. Don’t me me wrong on that either, there’s definitely an element of that in Trump’s rhetoric, but more often than not it’s in response to opponents doing it to him first, and even when it’s not, there’s a basis in reality for his insults. “Lightweight Rubio” and “Little Marco” aren’t even that harsh, but they’re pretty accurate by any form of measurement in success that you’d care to use. He’s small time, he hasn’t accomplished much of anything, and for someone who’s calling Trump a con man repeatedly, he sure seems a lot like one to me with how infrequently he shows up to committee meetings (many of which are higher than his averaged out absences of 68% of the time, or thereabouts).

        Cruz is, well, to be frank he’s a liar. An out and out liar, on par with Hillary Clinton. You can check out one of my more recent posts for a small example of the completely inaccurate statements he makes, all with a perfectly straight face, and I have a hard time believing that kind of behavior wouldn’t continue if he were elected. Add to that that, despite his claim to outsider status he (& Rubio) are both heavily funded by rich donors, special interest groups, Super-PACS, etc, and Cruz has uncomfortably close ties to Goldman Sachs in particular.

        All of that is to say, I will probably never consider voting for either of them, and not just because Trump has my vote, but because even if he didn’t I find them both to be pretty despicable and exactly the kind of problem politician everyone (including me) is so up in arms about. I’m sick of people like them, and if it means taking a risk on someone like Trump, than I’m okay with it. I like Tump on his own merits too, to be clear, but a small-ish factor is definitely that most of the other candidates are the epitome of what I *don’t* want in office and *don’t* want to vote for.

        Now…

        In terms of trade wars, the argument could very easily be made that we’re already in one, and losing, because we take every move by other nations lying down. We let them bleed us dry, and just because we’re doing it with a facade of stability doesn’t mean it’s any less dire of a problem. If temporarily sacrificing a bit of that stability means we end up better off when all is said and done (and nothing is going to change until *someone* is willing to make a move to shift trade deals and international relations more in our own favor), I’m fine with that. That’s how free markets and capitalism work, struggle, setbacks, difficulties, but the possibility of doing well for yourself. If it takes a trade war to put ourselves in a better place in the mid to long term, I say so be it.

        I definitely take your point about having to work with congress too, but I see a few angles to that… behind the scenes that’s something he excels at (deal making, getting along with people to get results, even if they don’t like you, etc.), and even as a candidate he’s already demonstrated a damn near supernatural ability to play the media, to mettle with established narratives, to apply pressure from the public when and if he needs too. So people have a lot of incentive to get along with him in the first place, and one thing I’ve noticed is that no matter how deep the mudslinging gets, he almost always leaves the door open for them to make nice with him. In short, I’m fairly confident he can work these people over as much as necessary, through reasoned persuasion, through publicity and pressure from the public, and so on…

        “Not that it matters much here in bluer than blue California but symbolically it means a lot to me.”

        I’m a California native too, born and raise haha. Weird state we live in, that’s for sure.

        “Nice to see some fair contemplation about it though, even if we disagree on who that person is.”

        Oh believe me, the feeling is mutual 😀 . I get so tired of the rudeness, the mindless name calling, the flat out inaccuracies that people throw around condescendingly as fact… Whether it’s face to face, on twitter, or on facebook… there’s a lot of complete ridiculousness from people on all sides of any given issue or candidate.

        “There is a lot more I could write on my feelings about Trump. I’ll try and get a blog post out about it soon where of course I would love your thoughts on.”

        I look forward to it 🙂 .

        Liked by 1 person

      • I don’t mind at all the back and forth, I really appreciate the behind the scenes look in to the mind of a rational Trump supporter. It definitely helps me keep in perspective that many I disagree with are thoughtful and smart and just as passionate on doing what’s right for this country as I am. Some are just a holes though (on all sides, not just Trump supporters), let’s be honest…;)

        And we sure do both agree on being sick of the online vitriol you get when you dare make political comments on social media. It’s so sad how people just cannot debate ideas without getting nasty. Once you do that in my opinion, you’ve lost the argument, no matter how stellar it may be.

        For me, what’s most important is not really particular political issues although, I do have my deal breakers. Free trade for example I could go back and forth with you all day long on. Tariffs are good for the very small people involved with making the product in question and horrible for everyone else stuck with higher prices. There is also a lot to be said for letting other countries make and sell what they can make and sell best and let us concentrate on what we do best. There are good arguments on your side too such as the points you bring p.

        What’s imperative to me, as I explained in my “What’s a Conservative” post, is does the candidate understand the importance of our founding documents and will they lead in such a way to empower individuals or the federal government? Will they fight to steer the ship back towards limited government where individual liberty thrives or will they further consolidate power at the executive level, of which we are at dangerously high levels. Trump gives no indication he thinks this is important and his leadership style, “they’ll do what I say because I tell them to….” signals a strongman seeking power. This article explains well my thoughts well, http://www.nationalreview.com/article/432497/donald-trump-2016-platform-not-what-america-needs

        Oh and yes, California is a weird place! In some good ways but definitely bad ones too. Cost of living just blows and all our politicians can do is add more and more regs to increase prices! Ones no one else in the country (help blended fuels!) has to follow mind you.

        Have a good night.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

