Shaping Perceptions

A lot of people worry way too much about their image. About what other people see in them, whether they’re seeing who we really are, or seeing someone we know ourselves not to be.

It’s not a habit I’m immune from either, but I shy away from it as much as possible. I want to control and determine what people see when they look at me, and even when they think of me, but I don’t want to waste my time micro-managing the impressions I may or may not give people.

One reason is that it’s all a guessing game, and while it’s one I’ve got a hell of a knack for, it’s a distraction from what really matters. The other biggest reason is at the tail end of the first one, I’d say. What really matters is authenticity, sincerity, giving a real impression.

Never mind that some people won’t like it, or you.

Some people won’t like you no matter what impression you give them about yourself, no matter who you appear to be. There’ll always be someone who can find something to have a problem with, something to rag on, something they just don’t like. Might as well let it be the real thing.

Appealing to everyone is impossible anyways, so fuck it.

The only way to effortlessly and effectively control your own image is to not waste time making some contrived, try-hard version of yourself. And, I suppose, to set people straight if they talk shit about you. Nothing wrong with that. Just so long as you’re not fixating on what they think…

So long as you’re focused on realizing your own dreams.

Let that shape peoples perceptions of you.


(Inspired by Robert Greene; I have a lot of respect for the guy,
but he tweets the most asinine things sometimes.)

Leave a Reply

