Start With Nothing

The idea of working with what you’ve got and making the best of it is pretty popular, but I’m not much of a fan. I prefer to start with nothing rather than “what I’ve got”. It might be the same difference, basically, but if you start with nothing you start without preconceptions.

Without something you have to adhere to or be to be confined by.

There’s more room for play, exploration, and spontaneity. Starting from nothing, you don’t know what you’re going to come up with until you’re finished. Maybe you get an idea of what it is along the way, but you only know what the shape of it really is once you’re done.

Done with the first pass at it, anyways.

Generally this has to do with motivation, with life in general, but it can be applied to any specifics you want to attach it to. A story, for example, flows more naturally for me and ends up being more organic, more alive, more real, if I don’t plan it out in my head too much.

If I just write it out as I go.

Maybe it doesn’t seem much different, but for me it makes a world difference.

Leave a Reply

