Laziness has a Cost

I think it’s already been like a month since the last time I posted something, give or take. So terrible to be that lazy. If you want to make gains in followers and in views, don’t do that.

Don’t go for two whole weeks without saying anything. I don’t apologize for it, but I do kick myself every now and then, when those stretches of inactivity unfold. Of course, I haven’t been completely inactive – when I’m not continuously posting here, I’m pretty continuous in interacting with others and sharing or producing content via Twitter and Facebook. But while I can and do indulge in that sort of laziness whenever I damn well please, don’t think I’m not aware of the consequences. I don’t lose subscribers or anything, but I do lose momentum.

Part of that is in terms of just being motivated, engaged, enthusiastic about whatever it is I’m doing or saying at any given time. The other part is that, people who check in every day when you’re posting all the time might not see your newest post if it’s published a month after the last time they heard from you; by then, they’re on to other things, and rightfully so.

It’s not that hard to regain their attention either, especially if they really like your style or your ideas or whatever, but you’ve kind of got to rebuild momentum and post often enough again for them to have plenty to dig into, for them to feel like they can start checking in regularly again when (and if) they check in and find a slew of new stuff.

As long as you make significant gains, the lulls don’t hurt to much and you’ve still got a solid base (which gets bigger with each push, each bout of continuous activity) when you’re up for going at it again. But it doesn’t hurt to be aware of the fact that the regularity of your posting, of you producing something for people to chew on, directly correlates to the kind of traffic you can expect to receive on your site. Come to think of it… I said “something for people to chew on” and you can run with that literally if you want a workable metaphor.

Let’s say you’re a reputable chef and your fan base is growing. 1,000 local people in your city love your food, but you need to rest and recuperate from time to time. If you take a vacation every year and you maintain your level of skill, or if you get better, the number of hungry customers will only grow. If you take a vacation every few months, the numbers will still grow, your reach will still increase, but during your vacation, people’s interest in going to get a plate of your food, or in waiting for you while your taking a break, goes through a cooling off period.

The longer those breaks last, the more the cooling effects takes hold.

The better you are, the easier it is to reignite and the more laziness you can get away with, but it’s still best to keep the breaks short. The growth of your reputation, your customer base and all that other stuff, all depends on you. Fuck around for a few months or a year and I’m sure you can imagine how much of a set back you’d be looking at. Same goes for anything else. There’s only so much sitting around on your ass you can get away with if you’re looking to achieve something.

Takeaway for the Reader…

If you want to be lazy, be lazy; if you need a break, take it.

Just don’t kid yourself about the effect that’s going to have.

14 thoughts on “Laziness has a Cost

    • Yep, and I find it’s better not to force it. When I do, it *feels* forced and not just on my end, but (imo anyways) from the perspective of someone reading it. I try to go with what feels right at any given time so it’s natural, more… more genuine, I guess I’d say.

      Like

    • Haha, yeah, I don’t like doing every day things like that. I see some interesting stuff turn up from people doing 30 or 100 day challenges of posting something every single day, and I kind of envy their discipline (not necessarily because of what they produce every day, but because that’s constant, continuous, relentless practice, and practice builds skill), but I opt out of those kinds of things because for me, it’d kill the fun. Which is (at least in some ways) the exact opposite of why I write anything in the first place.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yeah I understand how it can be kind of oppressive to feel like you HAVE to do something every day, which is why it’s good to have a break from it occasionally. I like doing a poem every day because I always have creative ideas but most days I’m to busy to do anything about them. When I’m doing something like a poem every day it’s like a bucket to catch all my ideas. And yeah, like you say, it’s now always great, sometimes I write really dumb stuff, but the buckets there to catch the awesome stuff top, which is why it works for me 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you for visiting and liking my posts. On the subject of posting daily (which I do), it does put pressure on the blogger – and it takes time. I have missed a few days, but have managed to post something most days since beginning the blog. Two weeks ago, I was hospitalized for 2 days after a trip to the emergency room because of a sudden and unexpected bout with anemia – and I managed to post two articles from my bed in the hospital. I’m not bragging. Instead, I’m thinking that qualified me for a visit to the psychiatric ward!!!! That was just nuts! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • 😀 You’re welcome; they say there’s a fine line between genius and madness. I tend to think that’s true. Brings to mind a quote I’ve always liked from Jack Kerouac, “[…]the only people for me are the mad ones, the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time, the ones who never yawn or say a commonplace thing, but burn, burn, burn like fabulous yellow roman candles exploding like spiders across the stars and in the middle you see the blue centerlight pop and everybody goes ‘Awww!'” Sorry to hear you were in the hospital, but it’s awesome that you wrote through even that.

        Like

  1. Good advice, Jack. That’s why, when I’m in one of those long-term slumps, I re-blog some of my older posts. It gives the readers something to do while I get my life together and start posting again -and of course, a lot of newer followers may not have read those older posts. And it keeps the reader from forgetting me, as long as I don’t re-blog so much that I annoy them.

    Liked by 1 person

    • “That’s why, when I’m in one of those long-term slumps, I re-blog some of my older posts.”

      I do that every once in a while, although usually, I “re-spin” he post instead of reblogging. I change the date to whatever day it is in the present, add an “originally published on…” tag line at the bottom so people know how old it is if they look. Basically the same thing, except more of a pain in the ass haha… I have a weird aversion to doing reblogs for some reason though. I’d rather reset the “published” date and add the original date to the post itself.

      I’ve definitely done that (and similar) before though, so it makes plenty of sense to me 😉 . Never a bad idea to expose new subscribers to older writings.

      “Good advice, Jack.”

      Haha thanks, though I could say the same about your comment. What you’re talking about, with the reblog tactic,is just as good if not better. Anyways, I’m glad you liked the post 🙂 .

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

