You’d Never Day…

“You’d never say ‘it’s just cancer, get over it’. So why do some say that about depression?”

Actually, I just might. Not because I “don’t understand” either, but because this is life.

More depressing for some people than others, and there are highs and lows. But that pretty much goes for all of us. I’ll tell you the one thing I’m tired of when it comes to mental disorders and depression. Hearing about how people just don’t understand. Believe it or not a sizable chunk of the population probably does. I have a pretty good idea of a lot of it, even with the ones I lack firsthand experience with, and let me tell you… it’s not that I don’t understand.

More often than not it’s probably just that people don’t want to hear your bitching.

That’s harsh, I know, but fyi people generally aren’t all that nice. The veneer of civility and compassion doesn’t change that, and it’s not much good at obscuring it these days. Maybe it never was. Maybe people have always been as blatantly uncaring as they seem to be in this day and age, if you look just beneath the surface of their (our) bullshit, all while pretending they’ve got this thing called “humanity” or “compassion”. I think it’s a waste of time to pretend.

We’re all humans, and part of that means we all have our own struggles to worry about. Sometimes people need to get over it regardless of what “it” is, even if it’s a biggy. If for no other reason than that pity parties are highly over-rated and extremely counter productive. People who have any aspirations, ambitions, or goals are working against themselves when they throw ’em.

It’s like with laziness (or any other silly thing you or I might feel inclined to indulge in, e.g. guilt, introspection, etc.) feel free to indulge in it as much as you want, feel sorry for yourself, vent, sulk… but don’t kid yourself about there being a price for that indulgence. Does it make me a bit of an asshole to look at it that way? Maybe, but here’s the thing: I’m fine with that.


(Note to the Reader: I don’t have a source for that quote, I paraphrased something I came across on Facebook a while back. Someone told someone else to get over something, then the other person was like “oh my god, you can’t say that, if someone had cancer would you tell them that they should ‘just get over it'” and I thought it was funny, because in the context of whatever it was they were talking about (I don’t remember) I would do exactly that.)

2 thoughts on “You’d Never Day…

  1. Two things: 1. When you tell someone to get over something like cancer or depression, they will get over it assuming they are competent enough to actually understand that it’s about what that little phrase means and not about how it sounds.
    2. If I decide to indulge in introspection, there is a price for me believe it or not. I just have to hand it over to myself on my own. 🙂

    Keep up the honest work 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks. Glad you got something out of it; to be honest, I wasn’t sure anyone would, but I wrote it and thought it would be a waste not to just go ahead and publish it. You never know what might resonate with someone else 🙂 .

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

