Not Feeling It

I was going to call this site “Sutter Media” at first, left it that way for a few days to feel it out.

I like the term “media” ’cause it’s just the plural form of “medium” (e.g. the way writing is a medium), this site is basically a multi faceted (twitter, facebook, etc.) medium of communication (me to the world) but communication wasn’t really the point. Or if it was, or is, it’s peripherally. I mean sure, obviously I want to communicate as clearly, effectively, and accurately as I’m able to. But the about page I’ve got has read the same way for as long as I can remember and it still fits pretty damn well.

Write about whatever, whenever, and try not to be too much of a fucking perfectionist about that. Making mistakes is part of the process ( 😉 ), as someone reminded me recently. I shouldn’t need reminded but… well, fuck it if I ain’t still human after all these years. And too human these days, on the other hand… too hungry to be brought to a halt. I’m not really thinking of destructive or negative experiences either; even constructive, valuable, meaningful experiences, connections, and events can be jarring, imo.

Question is, can you handle it. I’ve had plenty of opportunities to answer that one lately, including a remarkably positive one I can’t do justice to with words, especially not here… but the face in the mirror answers only with a smile these days, a calm and savagely focused center in the storm. I worried at my own shortcomings. I worried for nothing. Limits are breakable, expandable, and so are boundaries, so are doubts. Anyways… to get back to the site title… I gave the “media” header a shot and wasn’t feeling it. I’ve given this (Sutter’s Anthem) a shot too and, I don’t think I like it.

We’ll just have to see what happens. Maybe I’ll write out some of why I don’t like it.

Leave a Reply

